Forfeited Land Commission

The Forfeited Land Commission is a commission established by the State of South Carolina which consists of the County Treasurer, Auditor, and Register of Deeds, who serve without compensation. The purpose of the Forfeited Land Commission is to affect the sale of lands forfeited in pursuance of the South Carolina Code of Laws, 1976, as amended 12-51-55; whereas the Delinquent Tax Collector at the tax sale submits the bid on behalf of the Forfeited Land Commission equal to the amount of all unpaid taxes, assessments, penalties, and cost. At the end of the redemption period, properties held by the Forfeited Land Commission will be disposed of pursuant to the Policy and Procedures established by the Commission in the best interest of the County.

For more information on the Forfeited Land Commission, see the South Carolina Code of Law at (Title 12, Chapter 59.)


Forfeited Land Commission Members

Anne Bass
Fairfield County Auditor

Judy Bonds
Register of Deeds

Norma Branham
Fairfield County Treasurer



Agent for Forfeited Land Commission

Jim Thompson
Field Representative


Online Auction

The next auction begins January 12th, 2024, and runs through January 25th, 2024. 

Forfeited Land Commission Contact Information

Main Office Phone: 803-712-6520

Fax: 803-635-2767

Office Hours: Monday-Friday, 9AM-5PM


101 South Congress Street
Winnsboro, South Carolina 29180

Anne Bass

County Auditor

.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)