Fair Housing

2018 Theme - ‘Fifty Years’

Fairfield County Council commemorates the 50th year anniversary of the enactment of the Title VIII Civil Rights Acts of 1968 as amended (Fair Housing Act) and also recognizes April as National Fair Housing Month. Fairfield County Council desires that its citizens be afforded the opportunity to obtain Fair Housing Choice without the occurrence of discrimination and rejects discrimination in the provision of housing on the basis of:

  • Race
  • Color
  • Religion
  • Sex
  • Familial Status
  • National Origin
  • Disability

Everyone thrives in a Vibrant Community

What is Fair Housing?

Fair Housing means all people have equal access to the housing of their choice that they can afford. Fair Housing Laws ensure this equal access. Fair housing laws apply to the sale or rental of nearly all forms of residences, including apartments, houses, mobile homes, nursing homes, homeless shelters, and even vacant lots to be developed for housing. The Federal Fair Housing Act prohibits the denial of housing to a person based on the person’s race, color, religion, national origin, sex, familial status or disability.

In honor of the 50th Anniversary of the passage of the 1968 Fair Housing Act, Nationwide released on January 25, 2018, its short documentary film “Seven Days.” The short film, produced by Nationwide, chronicles the seven days between the assassination of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and the passage of the Fair Housing Act. Watch the documentary here.