Skip to main content



Fairfield County Welcomes 2 New Councilmembers, Re-elects Leadership

Featured image for Fairfield County Welcomes 2 New Councilmembers, Re-elects Leadership

Winnsboro, SC— January 10, 2023 — On Monday, Fairfield County Council officially swore in four Councilmembers, including newcomers Daniel Ruff (District 1) and Peggy Swearingen (District 3). Re-elected members are Douglas Pauley (District 5) and Clarence Gilbert (District 7). Both Councilmembers were re-elected during the previous election of 2022. The four members will join the three sitting members whose terms have two years left.

I want to thank all the citizens of Fairfield County who supported me,” says Dan Ruff. “I am looking forward to making Fairfield County better by working together, listening to the citizens and being transparent.” 

“Thank you for all of you who supported me,” says Peggy Swearingen, “I look forward to working with this council and serving the citizens of this county to the best of my ability.” 

The inauguration and organization ceremony was held an hour before the regular scheduled council meeting. Refreshments were available for all after the four Councilmembers were sworn in by the Honorable Judy Bonds, Fairfield County Clerk of Court. County Council also elected Councilman Pauley as Chair and Councilman Gilbert as Vice Chair. 

Fairfield County Council’s regular schedule meetings are held the second and fourth Monday of the month, 6:00 pm, in Council Chambers located at 250 N Walnut Street or be viewed live on the County’s YouTube channel:

Back to top