Voter Registration & Elections

Welcome to the Fairfield County Voter Registration and Elections Department

Mission Statement

The mission of the Fairfield County Board of Voter Registration and Elections is to ensure every eligible citizen has the opportunity to register to vote, participate in fair and impartial elections, and have the assurance that their votes will count.

Fairfield County School Board

Notice of Vacancy/Filing

School Board District 7 Seat

(Term Expiring 2018)

In Accordance with 7-13-190(C) of the SC Voter Registration and Election Laws

Candidate filing to fill the unexpired term for the

Fairfield County School Board District 7 Seat

opens November 10, 2017 at 12:00 noon and

closes November 20, 2017 at 12:00 noon.

Statements of Intention of Candidacy

will be accepted at the

Fairfield County Voter Registration and Elections Office

at 315 S. Congress St., Winnsboro SC, 29180.

Phone (803) 635-6255.

No filing fees are required.

Interested persons must be a resident and a registered voter of Fairfield County.

Interested persons must reside in School Board District 7.

Election Date: January 23, 2018



Please be prepared.  Update your address, update any name changes that may have occurred due to marriage or divorce, check your districts!

Educate yourself before you go to the polls.

Polls are open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Curbside voting is available for those who are not able to go inside their polling location.

ID is required for voting.  You must have ONE of the following to vote:

*SC Drivers License

*SC DMV issued photo ID

*Voter registration card with photo

*Military photo ID

*US passport

*Concealed Weapon Permit (just added to list of acceptable ID's)

Provisional ballots will be provided for any voter who does not have or has not been able to obtain one of the required photo id's.  You must have your voter registration card to vote a provisional ballot.

See the items listed below and other important information at

Online Voter Registration

Check Your Voter Registration

Update Your Voter Reigstration

Get Your Sample Ballot

Find Your Polling Place

Get Your Absentee Application

Check Your Absentee Ballot

Check Your Provisional Ballot


Please call or come by the Voter Registration and Elections Office if you have any questions!



General Information

When voting in person, you will be asked to show one of the following Photo IDs at your polling place:

  • SC Driver's License
  • SC Department of Motor Vehicles ID Card
  • SC Voter Registration Card with Photo
  • Federal Military ID
  • US Passport

See for more information

When to Vote

Polling places are open from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. on Election Day.  Anyone in line at 7:00 p.m. will be allowed to vote.

Absentee Voting

Qualified voters can vote absentee in person or by mail.  Photo ID is required to vote absentee in person.  Photo ID is not required to vote absentee by mail.

See for more information on absentee voting.

Where to Vote


You can check to find your precinct and districts.


Precinct Location Address
Blackstock Wood/blackstock Vol Fire 725 Blackstock Rd 
Blackstock SC 29014
Blairs Blair Vol. Fire Dept 321 99 Rd 
Blair SC 29015
Centerville Boykin's Garage 1087 Centerville Rd 
Ridgeway SC 29130
Feasterville Feasterville Fire Dept. 2785 Clowney Rd 
Blair SC 29015
Greenbrier Greenbrier Vol Fire Dept 3025 State Hwy 269 
Winnsboro SC 29180
Gladden Grove Mitford Vfd 70 Meeting St 
Great Falls SC 29055
Jenkinsville Jenkinsville Fire Dept. 7104 State Hwy 215 
Jenkinsville SC 29065
Horeb-glenn St Matthews Bapt. Church 3853 Estes Ln 
Winnsboro SC 29180
Hickory Ridge Blackjack Baptist Church 178 Reservoir Rd 
Winnsboro SC 29180
Lebanon Lebanon Vol Fire Dept 5364 Newberry Rd 
Winnsboro SC 29180
Mitford Mitford Vol Fire Dept 70 Meeting St 
Great Falls SC 29055
Monticello St Peter's Ame Church 4783 Clarks Bridge Rd 
Blair SC 29015
New Hope Lebanon Vol Fire Dept 5364 Newberry Rd 
Winnsboro SC 29180
Ridgeway Geiger Elementary Sch 300 Coleman St 
Ridgeway SC 29180
Simpson St Mark Baptist Church 4118 State Hwy 34 E 
Ridgeway SC 29130
South Winnsboro Community Vfd 110 Winter St 
Winnsboro SC 29180
Winnsboro Mills Community Vol Fire Dept 110 Winter St 
Winnsboro SC 29180
Winnsboro No. 1 Town Of Winns. Fire Dept 117 W. Washington St. 
Winnsboro SC 29180
Winnsboro No. 2 Town Clock Washington/congress St 
Winnsboro SC 29180
White Oak White Oak Arp Church 284 Patrick Rd 
Winnsboro SC 29180
Woodward Wood/blackstock Vol Fire 725 Blackstock Rd 
Blackstock SC 29014
Dutchmans Creek Dutchman Creek Vol Fire 6 Dutchman Ln. 
Ridgeway SC 29130


Straight Party Voting


Straight Party is Optional

Whether to vote "Straight Party" is the first choice a voter must make on a General Election ballot. Voting straight party is optional. Each political party that has nominated a candidate appearing on the voter's ballot is represented in the straight party selection area.

Straight Party Voting on Voting Machines 

If a party is selected under straight party, every candidate of that party is automatically selected throughout the ballot. As the voter advances through the ballot, the voter has the option of changing his vote for any particular office to a candidate of another party, a petition candidate, or a write-in candidate (also known as "crossover voting").  To change your vote for any particular office, simply touch the candidate of choice for that office, and the candidate previously selected will be automatically deselected.

Straight Party Voting on Optical Scan (Paper) Ballots

If the oval beside a party is shaded in under straight party, every candidate of that party will automatically receive a vote when that ballot is scanned unless it is overridden by a "crossover vote."  After shading in the straight party, a voter can override his straight party selection for a particular office by shading in the oval beside a candidate for that office.  

Straight Party Doesn't Cover Everything

Voters should be aware that when voting straight party, no selection is made for nonpartisan offices and questions. Also, your party may not have nominated candidates for all offices. In these cases, these contests must be voted individually. As always, voters should carefully review their choices before casting their ballot.


Office Information:

315 S. Congress St. 

PO Drawer 60

Winnsboro, SC 29180


803-635-5095 fax


Debby L. Stidham, Director                                

Jacquline C. Beaver, Deputy Director, Absentee Clerk

Robin E. Hill, Clerk                                                   


Fairfield County Board of Voter Registration and Elections Commission

Betty M. Trapp, Chairman                                28 JW Drive, Winnsboro, SC 29180

Carolyn Y. Prioleau, Vice Chairman                      PO Box 224, Ridgeway, SC 29130

John H. Glenn, Sr.                                             369 Glenn Valley Ln, Winnsboro, SC 29180

Alice H. Rice                                                      44 Buckberry Ln, Winnsboro, SC 29180

Thomas B. Chase                                               69 Killian Trail, Winnsboro, SC 29180

Robert D. Drake                                                 202 Hillcrest Dr, Winnsboro, SC 29180

Donna C. Royson                                                366 Emerald Dr, Blythewood, SC 29016 logo